NEW YORK (Aug. 1, 2017) The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), the nation’s largest professional organization serving the communications community, announced its officer and director nominees for its 2018 board of directors.

The nominees for 2018 officer positions are: Chair-Elect Debra D. PetersonAPR, vice president, external communications and community relations, CenturyLink, New Century, Kan.; treasurer, T. Garland StansellAPR, chief communications officer, Children’s of Alabama, Birmingham, Ala.; and secretary, Ronele M. DotsonAPR, president, RAD Strategies Inc., Reno, Nev.

They will join 2017 Chair-Elect Anthony W. D’AngeloAPRFellow PRSA, who becomes Chair on Jan. 1 to form the 2018 Executive Committee along with 2018 Immediate Past-Chair Jane DvorakAPRFellow PRSA.

In addition, the PRSA Nominating Committee, led by Kathy BarbourAPR, PRSA 2015 Chair, announced its selections for leadership positions for 2018. The nominees will stand for election by a vote of the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Oct. 7 prior to the start of the PRSA International Conference in Boston (Oct. 8-10).

“I am pleased and honored to announce this year’s nominations for the PRSA Board of Directors,” said Barbour. “I speak for the entire nominating committee in congratulating this select group of tremendously talented leaders who will undoubtedly help advance the society and broader profession. I applaud them for their continued service to PRSA and our members.”

The six individuals who were nominated for the open director positions on the PRSA Board of Directors are:

Midwest District Director
Kevin M. WaetkeAPR, vice president, strategic communications, National Pork Board, Clive, Iowa

North Pacific District
Michelle EganAPRFellow PRSA, corporate communications director, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co., Anchorage, Alaska

Southeast District
Amy T. CowardAPRFellow PRSA, vice president, public relations, Palmetto Health Foundation, Columbia, S.C.

Southwest District
Robert Scott PritchardAPRFellow PRSA, visiting professor & faculty adviser, Lindsey+Asp, University of Oklahoma, Blanchard, Okla.

Sunshine District
Joseph AbreuAPR, communications manager, Clerk of the Circuit Court, St. Lucie County, Fort Pierce, Fla.

Scott Wesley Thornburg, public relations specialist, Oracle, Redwood City, Calif.

Candidates by Petition
Article VII, Section 5 of the PRSA Bylaws provides: Nominations may also be made by petition by at least 10 Leadership Assembly delegates and filed with the secretary of the Society at the PRSA Headquarters at least 30 days prior to the annual meeting (Oct. 7, 2017) of the Leadership Assembly. Immediately upon receipt of any such nominations, the secretary shall send a notice of such nominations to all members.

The nominees, along with any petitioning candidates, will be presented at the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Oct. 7, 2017, for approval.

About the Public Relations Society of America
PRSA is the nation’s largest professional organization serving the communications community. The organization’s mission is to make communications professionals smarter, better prepared and more connected through all stages of their career. PRSA achieves this by offering its members thought leadership, innovative lifelong learning opportunities to help them develop new skills, enhance their credibility and connect with a strong network of professionals. The organization sets the standards of professional excellence and ethical conduct for the public relations industry. PRSA collectively represents more than 30,000 members consisting of communications professionals spanning every industry sector nationwide and college and university students who encompass the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA). Learn more about PRSA at